Governing Body

All schools are managed by a Local Governing Body, which works closely with the Headteacher and senior staff to run the school in line with DfE and Local Authority guidelines.

The Edgbarrow Local Governing Body consists of two parent governors, one staff governor, the Headteacher ex officio and sixteen co-opted governors.  They are all volunteers who give their time and expertise free of charge to ensure that the school is run well, within budget and putting the needs and well-being of pupils and staff at the forefront.

As with any large organisation, the managers, in our case, the Governors, work on a number of committees which cover various aspects of the school's organisation. These include Curriculum, Finance & Buildings, Staffing, Pastoral and Effective Governance.

The Governing board has the following core strategic functions.

   Establishing the strategic direction, by:

  • Setting the vision, values, and objectives for the school

  • Agreeing on the school improvement strategy with priorities and targets

  • Meeting statutory duties

Governors hold an important public office and their identity should be known to their school and wider communities. In the interests of transparency, a governing body should publish on its website up-to-date details of its governance arrangements in a readily accessible form. Readily accessible means that the information should be on a webpage without the need to download or open a separate document.

If you would like to find out more about the role of the Governors or if you wish to contact the Governors regarding a particular matter, please feel free to contact Celeste Moruzzi the Clerk to the Governing Body, via the school office. She will be able to direct your enquiry to the appropriate Governor or committee. All our Governors are very approachable.  

If you would like to become a Governor of our school please select this link

Governing Body

  Committees/Special Roles
Parent Governors Mr Mack Allan - LGB, Finance & Buildings, Staffing; Health & Safety Governor; Lead for Whistleblowing Complaints Panel
Mr David Boothe - Chair LGB, Curriculum; Effective Governance; Headteacher Appraisal Panel; Pay Appeals Lead
Headteacher Mr Stuart Matthews - Headteacher; LGB, Curriculum, SLT Lead Finance & Buildings; Pastoral; Staffing; New Building working party
Staff Governors Ms Louise West - LGB, Curriculum, Staffing; Acting Health & Safety Liaison
Co-opted Governors Mrs Steph Blades - LGB, Curriculum, Pastoral, Staff Complaints Panel Lead
Mrs Rebekah Brumby - LGB, Chair Curriculum, Pastoral; SEND Governor; Pupil Premium Governor
Mr David Fivian - LGB, Curriculum, Staffing; ECO Team; Pay Committee
Mr Peter Floyd - LGB, Pastoral, Staffing; Safeguarding, LA Liaison-Child Protection, Pupil Exclusions Panel Lead;  Liaison Governor in the event of allegation (child protection) against Headteacher
Mrs Alison Hancock - LGB, Finance & Buildings, Pastoral; Inventory Governor
Mrs Daphne Hill - LGB, Chair of Finance & Buildings; Effective Governance; Development Governor
Mrs Gill Howarth LGB, Curriculum, Pastoral; Pupil Premium Governor lead
Mr Steven James - LGB, Finance & Buildings; Staffing;
Mr Richard McCready - LGB, Curriculum, Finance & Buildings; New Building working party
Ms Sasha Mead - LGB, Curriculum, Finance & Buildings; Health & Safety Liaison
Mr Graham Oakley - Vice-Chair, LGB, Chair of Effective Governance, Staffing; Staff Discipline Panel Lead
Mrs Sarah Pemberton - LGB, Chair of Pastoral; Effective Governance; Finance & Buildings; Child Protection and Children in Care Governor (LAC); Safeguarding Governor
Mr Charles St Aubyn - LGB, Chair of Staffing; Effective Governance, Finance & Buildings; Recruitment Panel Lead; Pay Committee; Headteacher Appraisal Panel
Mr Royston Tinsley - LGB, Finance & Buildings, Staffing; Lead New Build working party; Pay Committee
Associate Members
Members do not have voting rights
Mr Stuart Cook - LGB, New Build working party
Mr Paul Pemberton - LGB, New Build working party
Governors in past 12 months
Sept 2018 to date
Committees/Special Roles
Mrs Lucy Stockwell LGB; Effective Goverance; Pastoral; E-Safety Governor
Mr Cliff Thompson LGB; Finance & Buildings; Pastoral; New Build working party

Governor Appointment and Attendance



Term of Office Ends

No. of possible
Meetings 2018/19


Attendance %
(min 70% expected)

Parent Governors          
Mr Mack Allan 11.10.18 10.10.22  8 5  62.5
Mr David Boothe 16.10.14

10 9 90
Mr Stuart Matthews 01.09.18 Ex Offico  18  15  83.3
Staff Governors          
Mrs L West
09.07.18 08.07.22  11 11 100
Co-opted Governors          
Mrs Steph Blades 29.11.09; 29.11.13




Mrs Rebekah Brumby 20.06.18 19.06.22 11  10  90.9
Mr David Fivian 09.06.15

11 10  90.9
Mr Peter Floyd 09.06.15

10 6  60
Mrs Alison Hancock 14.11.18 13.11.22  9 9 100
Mrs Daphne Hill 16.11.16

 11 10 90.9
Mrs Gill Howarth 09.06.15 08.06.19 11 8  72.7
Mr Steven James 09.06.15

12 9  75
Mr Richard McCready 14.11.18 13.11.22 9  5 55.6
Ms Sasha Mead 20.06.18 19.06.22  13  9 69.2
Mr Graham Oakley (Chair) 09.06.15

9 9  100
Mrs Sarah Pemberton 16.11.16

15.11.20 14 13 92.9
Mr Charles St Aubyn 16.11.16

14 12 85.7
Mrs Lucy Stockwell
09.07.14 (Staff)
09.07.18 (Co-opted)




Mr Cliff Thompson 09.06.15

12 9  75
Mr Royston Tinsley 09.06.15

12 9  75
Associate Members          
Mr Stuart  Cook 14.11.18 13.11.20      
Mr Paul Pemberton 17.09.18 16.09.20      
Governors Clerk          
Celeste Moruzzi  20.06.12  Ex Offico 24 24 100
Governors - past 12 Months     
Ms Alyson Guy 16.11.16 15.11.20 7 7 100
Rev Martin Ceaser 11.11.15 10.11.19 6 5 83.3

Register of Business Interests 2019-2020



Nature of Interest

Date Interest

Parent Governors      
Mr Mack Allan Baxter Storey Ltd Caterlink (Subsidiary Company) Employer
Parent of a child at Edgbarrow School
Mr David Boothe Edgbarrow School Parent of a child at Edgbarrow School 2014
Staff Governors      
Mr Stuart Matthews

Mrs Louise West

Edgbarrow School
Crowthorne Trust
John McCann Trust

Edgbarrow School
Headteacher at Edgbarrow School

Teacher at Edgbarrow School

Co-opted Governors      
Mrs Steph Blades Edgbarrow School NIL NIL
Mrs Rebekah Brumby
Edgbarrow School Parent of a child at Edgbarrow School 2018
Mr David Fivian NIL NIL NIL
Mr Peter Floyd Corvus Learning Trust
Kennel Lane School
Chair of Governors
Mrs Alison Hancock Edgbarrow School Parent of a children at Edgbarrow School 2013
Mrs Daphne Hill NIL NIL NIL
Mrs Gill Howarth NIL NIL NIL
Mr Steven James Corvus Learning Trust
Surrey & Hampshire Canal Cruises Ltd
John Pinkerton Canal Cruises Ltd
Partner: Oaklands School
Chair of Trustee
Chair of Governors

Mr Richard McCready
Edgbarrow School Partner is Employee at Edgbarrow School 2018
Miss Sasha Mead Edgbarrow School Teacher at Edgbarrow School 2018
Mr Graham Oakley Corvus Learning Trust Trustee 2017
Mrs Sarah Pemberton Edgbarrow School

Parent of two children at Edgbarrow School
Husband is an Associate Member of the Governing Body
Director of building company focusing on Private Sector (Husband is MD)

Mr Charlie St Aubyn Edgbarrow School Parent of two children at Edgbarrow School 2015
Mr Royston Tinsley Edgbarrow School NIL NIL
Associate Members      
Mr Stuart Cook NIL NIL 2018
Mr Paul Pemberton Edgbarrow School

Parent of Children at Edgbarrow School; Wife - Governor on the Governing Body
Managing Director

Governors - past 12 months
Sept 2018 -
Aug 2019



Nature of Interest
Date Interest
Mrs Lucy Stockwell Co-opted Governor Edgbarrow School Parent of a child at Edgbarrow School
Employee at Edgbarrow School
Mr Cliff Thompson Co-opted Governor Bracknell Forest Borough Council Local Government - Elected member 1997

Updated Nov 2019

Governing Body and Committee Membership 2019-2020

Governor Attendance 2018-2019

Governor Register of Business Interests 2019-2020


Department for Education website
Governornet - information for School Governors
National Governors' Association